top of page


General Facts

Area: 28,748 km2 (11,100 sq miles)

Capital City: Tirana

Population: 2,876,591 (2017 estimate)

Official Languages: Albanian

Boarding Countries: Montenegro, Kosovo, Macedonia, Greece

Coastline: 476 km (296 miles)

Currency: Lek (ALL)

Government: Constitutional Republic


Albania has a variety of climatic conditions, being situated in the transition zone between the typical Mediterranean climate in the west and the moderate continental in the east. The average annual temperature is 15°c (59°f). Rainy winters (with frequent cyclones) and dry, hot summers are typical of the coastal plain. Summer rainfall is more frequent and winters colder in the mountainous interior. Annual precipitation ranges from about 100 cm (40 in) on the coast to more than 250 cm (100 in) in the mountains.

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Tirana (858,262)

2. Durres (201,519)

3. Vlore (141,513)

4. Elbasan (126,703)

5. Shkoder (102,075)

bottom of page