top of page


General Facts

Area: 1,246,700 km2 (481,400 sq miles)

Capital City: Luanda

Population: 25,789,024 (2014 census)

Official Languages: Portuguese, Kikongo, Kimbundu, Umbundu

Boarding Countries: Democratic Republic of the Congo, Zambia, Namibia

Coastline: 1,600 km (994 miles) 

Currency: Kwanza (AOA)

Government: Presidential Constitutional Republic


Angola's climate varies considerably from the coast to the central plateau and even between the north coast and the south coast. The north, from Cabinda to Ambriz, has a damp, tropical climate. The zone that begins a little to the north of Luanda and extends to Namibe, the Malanje region, and the eastern strip have a moderate tropical climate. Damp conditions prevail south of Namibe, dry conditions in the central plateau zone, and a desert climate in the southern strip between the plateau and the frontier with Namibia. There are two seasons: a dry, cool season from June to late September, and a rainy, hot season from October to April or May. The average temperature is 20°c (68°f); temperatures are warmer along the coast and cooler on the central plateau. The Benguela Current makes the coastal regions arid or semiarid. The annual rainfall is only 5 cm (2 in) at Namibe, 34 cm (13 in) at Luanda, and as high as 150 cm (59 in) in the northeast.

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Luanda (2,776,168)

2. N'dalatando (383,100)

3. Huambo (226,145)

4. Lobito (207,932)

5. Benguela (151,226)

bottom of page