top of page


General Facts

Area: 29,743 km2 (11,484 sq miles)

Capital City: Yerevan

Population: 2,927,816 (2016 estimate)

Official Languages: Armenian

Boarding Countries: Turkey, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Iran

Coastline: None

Currency: Dram (AMD)

Government: Semi-Presidential Republic


Armenia's climate ranges from subtropical to alpine-like in the mountains. The mean temperature in midsummer is 25°c (77°f). In midwinter, the mean temperature is 0°c (32°f). Rainfall is infrequent. The capital city receives 33 cm of rain annually (13 in), though more rainfall occurs in the mountains.

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Yerevan (1,093,485)

2. Gyumri (148,381)

3. Vanadzor (101,098)

4. Vagharshapat (49,513)

5. Hrazdan (40,795)

bottom of page