top of page


General Facts

Area: 86,600 km2 (33,400 sq miles)

Capital City: Baku

Population: 9,867,250 (2017 estimate)

Official Languages: Azerbaijani 

Boarding Countries: Russia, Georgia, Armenia, Iran

Coastline: None

Currency: Manat (AZN)

Government: Semi-Presidential Republic


The country's climate is subtropical in the eastern and central parts. In the mountainous regions the climate is alpine-like. The southeastern section of the country has a humid subtropical climate. The average temperature in the capital, Baku, in July is 25°c (77°f). In January the average temperature is 4°c (39°f). Rainfall varies according to climate zones. The average rainfall for most of the country is only about 15 to 25 cm (6 to 10 in). However, at the highest elevations of the Caucasus and in the Länkäran lowlands, annual rainfall can exceed 100 cm (39 in).

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Baku (1,116,513)

2. Ganja (313,300)

3. Sumqayit (265,150)

4. Lankaran (240,300)

5. Mingachevir (95,453)

bottom of page