top of page


General Facts

Area: 147,570 km2 (56,980 sq miles)

Capital City: Dhaka

Population: 162,951,560 (2016 estimate)

Official Languages: Bengali 

Boarding Countries: Russia, Georgia, Armenia, Iran

Coastline: 580 km (360 miles)

Currency: Taka (BDT)

Government: Parliamentary Republic


Bangladesh has a tropical monsoon climate. Annual rainfall is high, averaging from about 119 cm (47 in) up to 145 cm (57 in). There are three distinct seasons. The winter, which lasts from October through early March, is cool and dry, with temperature ranges from 5°c to 22°c (41°f to 72°f); total winter rainfall averages about 18 cm (7 in) in the east and less than 8 cm (3 in) in the northwest. Temperatures rise rapidly in March, and during the summer season - March through May - average about 32°c (90°f). Rainfall also increases during this period. However, nearly 80% of the annual rainfall falls from May to September, the monsoon season, when moisture-laden winds blow from the south and southeast. 

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Dhaka (10,356,500)

2. Chittagong (3,920,222)

3. Khulna (1,342,339)

4. Rajshahi (700,133)

5. Comilla (389,411)

bottom of page