top of page


General Facts

Area: 30,528 km2 (11,787 sq miles)

Capital City: Brussels

Population: 11,358,357 (2018 census)

Official Languages: Dutch, French, German

Boarding Countries: France, Netherlands, Germany, Luxembourg

Coastline: 67 km (41.6 miles)

Currency: Euro (EUR)

Government: Constitutional Monarchy


In the coastal region, the climate is mild and humid. There are marked temperature changes farther inland. In the high southeasterly districts, hot summers alternate with very cold winters. Except in the highlands, rainfall is seldom heavy. The average annual temperature is 8°c (46°f); in Brussels, the mean temperature is 10°c (50°f), ranging from 3°c (37°f) in January to 18°c (64°f) in July. Average annual rainfall is between 70 and 100 cm (28 to 40 in).

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Antwerp (520,504)

2. Ghent (259,083)

3. Charleroi (201,256)

4. Liege (197,885)

5. Brussels (176,545)

bottom of page