top of page


General Facts

Area: 1,098,581 km2 (424,164 sq miles)

Capital City: Sucre

Population: 11,217,864 (2018 estimate)

Official Languages: Spanish & 36 Indigenous Languages

Boarding Countries: Chile, Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Peru

Coastline: None

Currency: Boliviano (BOB)

Government: Constitutional Republic


Although Bolivia lies entirely in the tropics, extreme differences in altitude and rainfall give it a great variety in climate. The mean annual temperature of La Paz, at 3,697 m (12,130 ft), is about 8°c (46°f) and in the eastern lowlands is 26°c (79°f). In the western highlands, cold winds blow all year round; at night the temperature often drops below freezing. The rainy season lasts from December to February, but during most of the year the high Altiplano plateau is parched and inhospitable. Around Lake Titicaca, rainfall is adequate, but there is less than 13 cm (5 in) a year in the extreme southwest. The fertile valleys in the Cordillera Oriental have a warmer, semiarid Mediterranean climate.

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Santa Cruz de la Sierra (1,441,406)

2. El Alto (842,378)

3. La Paz (757,184)

4. Cocabamba (630,587)

5. Oruro (264,683)

bottom of page