top of page

Cayman Islands

General Facts

Area: 264 km2 (102 sq miles)

Capital City: George Town

Population: 61,559 (2017 estimate)

Official Languages: English

Boarding Countries: None (Island)

Coastline: 160 km (99 miles)

Currency: Cayman Island Dollar (KYD), US Dollar is widely accepted.

Government: Constitutional Monarchy


The Cayman Islands have a tropical wet and dry climate, with a wet season from May to October, and a dry season that runs from November to April. The temperature, summer or winter, seldom goes lower than 70°F. or higher than 90°F. The average is 78°F. in the winter and about 86°F in the summer. Terrain is mostly a low-lying limestone base surrounded by coral reefs.

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. George Town (31,785)

2. West Bay (11,436)

3. Bodden Town (6,918)

4. East End (1,552)

5. North Side (1,258 )

bottom of page