General Facts

Area: 56,594 km2 (21,851 sq miles)

Capital City: Zagreb

Population: 4,154,200 (2017 estimate)

Official Languages: Croatian

Boarding Countries: Slovenia, Hungary, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro

Coastline: 1,777 km (1,104 miles) - Mainland

Currency: Kuna (HRK)

Government: Constitutional Republic


Croatia's climate in the lowlands features hot, dry summers and cold winters. In Zagreb, the average annual temperature is 12°c (53°f) with average highs of 2°c (35°f) in January and 27°c (80°f) in July. In the mountains, summers are cool and winters cold and snowy. Along the coast, the climate is Mediterranean with mild winters and dry summers. In Split, the average annual temperature is 17°c (62°f). Annual average precipitation is about 94 cm (37 in).

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Zagreb (790,017)

2. Split (178,102)

3. Rijeka (128,624)

4. Osijek (108,048)

5. Zadar (75,062)