top of page


General Facts

Area: 9,251 km2 (3,572 sq miles)

Capital City: Nicosia

Population: 1,170,125 (2016 estimate)

Official Languages: Greek, Turkish

Boarding Countries: None (Island)

Coastline: 648 km (402.6 miles) 

Currency: Euro (EUR)

Government: Constitutional Republic


Cyprus is for the most part dry and sunny. The warm currents of the Mediterranean ensure mild winters but bring humidity to the coastal area in the summer, when the central plain is hot and dry. On the hills, daily sunshine is interrupted only occasionally by a wet period rarely lasting more than a week. The mean annual temperature is about 20°c (68°f). A cool, rainy season lasts from November to March. In winter, snow covers the higher peaks of the Troodos; elsewhere the temperature seldom falls below freezing, and conditions are mild and bracing. Rainfall is erratic and varies greatly in different parts of the island. The annual average precipitation ranges from below 30 cm (12 in) in the west-central lowlands to more than 114 cm (45 in) in the higher parts of the southern massif. Earthquakes are not uncommon.

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Nicosia (200,452)

2. Limassol (154,000)

3. Larnaca (72,000)

4. Famagusta (42,526)

5. Paphos (35,961)

bottom of page