top of page

General Facts

Area: 28,050 km2 (10,830 sq miles)

Capital City: Malabo

Population: 1,221,490 (2016 estimate)

Official Languages: Spanish, French, Portuguese

Boarding Countries: Cameroon, Gabon

Coastline: 296 km (184 miles) 

Currency: Central African Franc (XAF)

Government: Presidential Republic


Equatorial Guinea has a tropical climate with distinct wet and dry seasons. From June to August, Río Muni is dry and Bioko wet; from December to February, the reverse exists. In between there is gradual transition. Rain or mist occurs daily on Annobón, where a cloudless day has never been registered. The temperature at Malabo, Bioko, ranges from 16°c to 33°c (61–91°f), though on the southern Moka Plateau normal high temperatures are only 21°c (70°f). In Río Muni, the average temperature is about 27°c (80°f). Annual rainfall varies from 193 cm (76 in) at Malabo to 1,092 cm (430 in) at Ureka, Bioko, but Río Muni is somewhat drier.

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Bata (173,046)

2. Malabo (155,963)

3. Ebebiyin (24,831)

4. Aconibe (11,192)

5. Anisoc (10,191)

Equatorial Guinea

bottom of page