top of page


General Facts

Area: 45,227 km2 (17,462 sq miles)

Capital City: Tallinn

Population: 1,318,705 (2018 estimate)

Official Languages: Estonian

Boarding Countries: Russia, Latvia

Coastline: 3,794 km (2,357 miles) 

Currency: Euro (EUR)

Government: Parliamentary Republic


In Estonia, the climate is Baltic with freezing winters and cool summers, which are also moderately rainy. Estonia is the northernmost of the Baltic republics, and it is also the coldest. The climate is fairly uniform, but the western coastal areas, west of Tallinn, are a bit milder because they receive a greater maritime influence. Precipitation in Estonia has a pattern similar to that of the other Baltic countries, being distributed fairly evenly throughout the year, with a relative minimum between February and April, and a maximum in summer where it exceeds 700 mm (27.5 in) per year. 

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Tallinn (449,160)

2. Tartu (96,904)

3. Narva (57,130)

4. Parnu (51,739)

5. Kohtla-Jarve (36,106)

bottom of page