General Facts

Area: 18,274 km2 (7,056 sq miles)

Capital City: Suva

Population: 898,760 (2016 estimate)

Official Languages: English, Fijian, Fiji Hindi 

Boarding Countries: None (Island)

Coastline: 1,129 km (702 miles)

Currency: Fijian Dollar (FJD)

Government: Parliamentary Constitutional Republic


Temperatures at sea level range from 20–29°c (68–85°f); easterly trade winds blow during the greater part of the year. Annual rainfall is well distributed and averages 305 cm (120 in) in Suva. At sea level on the leeward sides of the islands there are well-defined wet and dry seasons, with a mean annual average of 178 cm (70 in) of rain. The cyclone season, from November to April, brings storms that generally cause extensive property damage and loss of crops as well as numerous deaths.

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Suva (77,366)

2. Lautoka (52,500)

3. Nadi (42,284)

4. Labasa (27,949)

5. Ba (14,596)