top of page


General Facts

Area: 69,700 km2 (26,900 sq miles)

Capital City: Tbilisi

Population: 3,718,200 (2017 estimate)

Official Languages: Georgian, Abkhazian

Boarding Countries: Turkey, Russia, Azerbaijan, Armenia

Coastline: 310 km (193 miles) 

Currency: Georgian Lari (GEL)

Government: Semi-Presidential Republic


Georgia's climate along the Black Sea coast is similar to that along the Mediterranean, warm, humid, and almost subtropical. Farther inland the climate is continental, with warm summers and cold winters. July's mean temperature is 23°C (73.8°f). The mean temperature in January is -3°c (27.3°f). The annual rainfall in Georgia is 51 cm (20 in). In the mountains it is much cooler, with snow and ice all year in altitudes above 3,600 m (12,000 ft).

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Tbilisi (1,108,717)

2. Batumi (152,839)

3. Kutaisi (147,635)

4. Rustavi (125,103)

5. Gori (48,143)

bottom of page