top of page

General Facts

Area: 245,836 km2 (94,918 sq miles)

Capital City: Conakry

Population: 12,395,924 (2016 estimate)

Official Languages: French

Boarding Countries: Ivory Coast, Mali, Liberia, Sierra Leone, Guinea-Bissau, Senegal

Coastline: 320 km (199 miles) 

Currency: Guinean Franc (GNF)

Government: Presidential Republic


The coastal region and much of the inland area have a tropical climate with a long rainy season of six months, a relatively high and uniform annual temperature, and high humidity. Conakry's year-round average high is 29°c (84°f), and the low is 23°c (73°f); its average rainfall is 430 cm (169 in) per year. April is the hottest month; July and August are the wettest. Rainfall in the Futa Jallon is much less (about 150–200 cm/60–80 in) and more irregular, and temperatures are lower; moreover, the daily temperature range is much greater, especially during the dry season. In Upper Guinea, rainfall is lower than in the Futa Jallon. Rainfall in the highlands averages about 280 cm (110 in) annually; temperatures are relatively equable owing to the altitude.


Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Accra (1,963,264)

2. Kumasi (1,468,609)

3. Tamale (360,579)

4. Takoradze (232,919)

5. Achiaman (202,932)

bottom of page