top of page

General Facts

Area: 36,125 km2 (13,948 sq miles)

Capital City: Bissau

Population: 1,815,698 (2016 estimate)

Official Languages: Portuguese

Boarding Countries: Senegal, Guinea

Coastline: 350 km (217 miles) 

Currency: West african Franc (XOF)

Government: Semi-Presidential Republic


Guinea-Bissau has a hot, humid, typically tropical climate, with a rainy season that lasts from mid-May to mid-November and a cooler dry season occupying the rest of the year. The average temperature in the rainy season ranges from 26–28°c (79–82°f). Rainfall generally exceeds 198 cm (78 in), but droughts occurred in 1977, 1979, 1980, and 1983. The rainiest months are July and August. During the dry season, when the harmattan (dust-laden wind) blows from the Sahara, average temperatures do not exceed 24°c (75°f). The coldest months are December and January.


Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Bissau (388,028)

2. Bafata (22,521)

3. Gabu (14,430)

4. Bissora (12,688)

5. Bolama (10,769)

bottom of page