top of page


General Facts

Area: 112,492 km2 (43,433 sq miles)

Capital City: Tegucigalpa

Population: 9,112,867 (2016 estimate)

Official Languages: Spanish

Boarding Countries: Guatemala, El Salvador, Nicaragua

Coastline: 832 km (517 miles)

Currency: Lempira (HNL)

Government: Presidential Republic


The northern Caribbean area and the southern coastal plain have a wet, tropical climate, but the interior is drier and cooler. Temperature varies with altitude. The coastal lowlands average 31°c (88°f); from 300 to 760 m (1,000 to 2,500 ft) above sea level the average is 29°c (84°f); and above 760 m (2,500 ft) the average temperature is 23°c (73°f). There are two seasons: a rainy period, from May through October, and a dry season, from November through April. Average annual rainfall varies from over 240 cm (95 in) along the northern coast to about 84 cm (33 in) around Tegucigalpa in the south. 

Five Largest Cities: 

1. Tegucigalpa (1,126,534)

2. San Pedro Sula (638,259)

3. Choloma (222,828)

4. La Ceiba (174,006)

5. El Progreso (131,125 )

bottom of page