top of page


General Facts

Area: 93,030 km2 (35,920 sq miles)

Capital City: Budapest

Population: 9,797,561 (2017 estimate)

Official Languages: Hungarian

Boarding Countries: Ukraine, Romania, Serbia, Croatia,Slovenia, Austria, Slovakia

Coastline: None 

Currency: Forint (HUF)

Government: Constitutional Republic


Hungary lies at the meeting point of three climatic zones: the continental, Mediterranean, and oceanic. Yearly temperatures vary from a minimum of -14°c (7°f) to a maximum of 36°c (97°f). The mean temperature in January is -4°c to 0°c (25° to 32°f) and in July, 18° to 23°c (64° to 73°f). Rainfall varies, but the annual average is approximately 63 cm (25 in) - more in the west and less in the east - with maximum rainfall during the summer months. Severe droughts often occur in the summers.

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Budapest (1,752,704)

2. Debrecen (201,981)

3. Szeged (161,137)

4. Miskolc (157,177)

5. Pecs (144,675)

bottom of page