General Facts

Area: 3,287,263 km2 (1,269,219 sq miles)

Capital City: New Delhi

Population: 1,324,171,354 (2016 estimate)

Official Languages: Hindi, English 

Boarding Countries: Pakistan, Afghanistan, China, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh, Myanmar (Burma)

Coastline: 7,500 km (4,660 miles)

Currency: Indian Rupee (INR)

Government: Parliamentary Constitutional Socialist Republic


The Climate of India comprises a wide range of weather conditions across a vast geographic scale and varied topography, making generalisations difficult. Based on the Köppen systemIndia hosts six major climatic subtypes, ranging from arid desert in the west, alpine tundra and glaciers in the north, and humid tropical regions supporting rainforests in the southwest and the island territories. Many regions have starkly different microclimates. The country's meteorological department follows the international standard of four climatological seasons with some local adjustments: winter (December, January and February), summer (March, April and May), a monsoon rainy season (June to September), and a post-monsoon period (October to November).

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Munbai (12,691,836)

2. Delhi (10,927,986)

3. Bengaluru (5,104,047)

4. Kolkata (4,631,392)

5. Chennai (4,328,063)