top of page


General Facts

Area: 10,991 km2 (4,244 sq miles)

Capital City: Kingston

Population: 2,881,355 (2016 estimate)

Official Languages: English

Boarding Countries: None (Island)

Coastline: 1,022 km (635 miles)

Currency: Jamaican Dollar (JMD)

Government: Constitutional Monarchy 


The climate ranges from tropical at sea level to temperate in the uplands; there is relatively little seasonal variation in temperature. The average annual temperature in the coastal lowlands is 27°c (81°f); for the Blue Mountains, 13°c (55°f). The island has a mean annual rainfall of 198 cm (78 in), with wide variations during the year between the north and south coasts. The northeast coast and the Blue Mountains receive up to 500 cm (200 in) of rain a year in places, while some parts of the south coast receive less than 75 cm (30 in), most of it falling between May and October. The rainy seasons are May to June and September to November. The period from late August to November has occasionally been marked by destructive hurricanes.

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Kingston (587,798)

2. Montego Bay (96,488)

3. Spanish Town (92,383)

4. Portmore (90,138)

5. May Pen (45,903)

bottom of page