General Facts

Area: 580,367 km2 (224,081 sq miles)

Capital City: Nairobi

Population: 49,125,325 (2017 estimate)

Official Languages: English, Kiswahili

Boarding Countries: Ethiopia, Somalia, Tanzania, Uganda, South Sudan

Coastline: 536 km (333 miles) 

Currency: Kenyan Shilling (KES)

Government: Presidential Constitiutional Republic


The climate of Kenya is as varied as its topography. Climatic conditions range from the tropical humidity of the coast through the dry heat of the hinterland and northern plains to the coolness of the plateau and mountains. The coastal temperature averages 27°c (81°f), and the temperature decreases by slightly less than 2°c (3°f) with each 300 m (1,000 ft) increase in altitude. The capital, Nairobi, at 1,661 m (5,449 ft), has a mean annual temperature of 19°c (66°f); at 2,740 m (9,000 ft) the average is 13°c (55°f). The arid northern plains range from 21°–27°c (70–81°f). Most regions of the country have two rainy seasons, the long rains falling between April and June and the short rains between October and December. Average annual rainfall varies from 13 cm (5 in) a year in the most arid regions of the northern plains to 193 cm (76 in) near Lake Victoria. The coast and highland areas receive an annual average of 102 cm (40 in).

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Nairobi (2,750,547)

2. Mombasa (799,668)

3. Nakuru (259,903)

4. Eldoret (218,446)

5. Kisumu (216,479)