top of page


General Facts

Area: 160 km2 (62 sq miles)

Capital City: Vaduz

Population: 37,340 (2014 estimate)

Official Languages: German

Boarding Countries: Austria, Switzerland

Coastline: None   

Currency: Swiss Franc (CHF)

Government: Constitutional Monarchy


Climatic conditions in Liechtenstein are less severe than might be expected from its elevated terrain and inland situation; the mitigating factor is a warm south wind called the Föhn. The annual lowland temperature varies between -4.5°c (24°f) in January and 19.9°c (68°f) in July. Late frost and prolonged dry periods are rare. Average annual precipitation is 105 cm (41 in).

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Schaan (5,748)

2. Vaduz (5,197)

3. Triesen (4,701)

4. Balzers (4,447)

5. Eschen (4,008)

bottom of page