top of page


General Facts

Area: 2,586.4 km2 (998.6 sq miles)

Capital City: Luxembourg City

Population: 590,667 (2017 estimate)

Official Languages: Luxembourgish, French, German

Boarding Countries: German, France, Belgium

Coastline: None   

Currency: Euro (EUR)

Government: Constitutional Monarchy


Luxembourg's climate is temperate and mild. Summers are generally cool, with a mean temperature of about 17°c (63°f); winters are seldom severe, average temperature being about 0°c (32°f). The high peaks of the Ardennes in the north shelter the country from rigorous north winds, and the prevailing northwesterly winds have a cooling effect. Rainfall is plentiful in the extreme southwest; precipitation throughout the country averages about 75 cm (30 in) annually.

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Luxembourg City (115,227)

2. Esch-sur-Alzette (33,939)

3. Differdange (24,805)

4. Dudelange (20,003)

5. Ettelbruck (8,544)

bottom of page