top of page


General Facts

Area: 25,713 km2 (9,928 sq miles)

Capital City: Skopje

Population: 2,103,721 (2017 estimate)

Official Languages: Macedonian

Boarding Countries: Albania, Kosovo, Serbia, Bulgaria, Greece

Coastline: None   

Currency: Macedonian Denar (MKD)

Government: Parliamentary Republic


Macedonia's climate features hot summers and cold winters. Fall tends to be dry in the country. In July the average temperature is between 20 and 23°c (68 and 73°f). The average temperature in January is between -20 and 0°c (-4 and 32°f). Rainfall averages 51 cm (20 in) a year. Snowfalls can be heavy in winter.

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Skopje (506,926)

2. Bitola (74,550)

3. Kumanovo (70,842)

4. Prilep (66,246)

5. Tetovo (52,915)

bottom of page