top of page


General Facts

Area: 330,803 km2 (127,724 sq miles)

Capital City: Kuala Lumpur

Population: 31,955,000 (2018 estimate)

Official Languages: Malay 

Boarding Countries: Thailand, Singapore, Brunei, Indonesia

Coastline: 4,675 km (2,905 miles)

Currency: Ringgit (MYR)

Government: Parliamentary Elective Constitutional Monarchy


In Malaysia the climate is equatorial, meaning hot, humid and rainy throughout the year. Temperatures are high and stable, with a slight decrease between November and January, when the maximum goes down to 29/30 °C (84/86 °F), at least in the north, and a slight increase (which, however, is felt because of the high humidity) between March and August, when the maximum hovers around 32/33 °C (90/91 °F) and the minimum around 23/25 °C (73/77 °F). The rains are abundant and continuous throughout the year as well. The rains are caused by the monsoon regime, however, considering Malaysia is near the Equator and surrounded by the sea, there is no real dry season.

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Kota Bharu (1,459,994)

2. Kuala Lumpur (1,453,975)

3. Klamg (879,867)

4. Kampung Baru Subang (833,571)

5. Johor Bahru (802,489)

bottom of page