top of page

Marshall Islands

General Facts

Area: 181.43 km2 (70.05 sq miles)

Capital City: Majuro

Population: 53,066 (2016 estimate)

Official Languages: Marshallese, English 

Boarding Countries: None (island)

Coastline: 370.4 km (230.2 miles)

Currency: US Dollar (USD)

Government: Parliamentary Republic


In the Marshall Islands, the climate is tropical, hot all year round, with little variation in temperature. The trade winds blow constantly, tempering the heat. In the capital, Majuro, the temperature is definitely stable throughout the year: lows are around 25 °C (77 °F), while highs are around 30 °C (86 °F); the temperature rarely drops below 22 °C (72 °F) at night or exceeds 32/33 °C (90/91 °F) during the day. 

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Majuro (25,400)

2. Ebaye (15,000)

3. Arno (2,068)

4. Jabor (1,200)

5. Wotje (880)

bottom of page