top of page


General Facts

Area: 2,040 km2 (790 sq miles)

Capital City: Port Louis

Population: 1,262,132 (2016 estimate)

Official Languages: None

Boarding Countries: None (Island)

Coastline: 177 km (110 miles) 

Currency: Mauritian Rupee (MUR)

Government: Parliamentary Republic


The subtropical maritime climate is humid, with prevailing southeast winds. The temperature ranges from 18° to 30°c (64–86°f) at sea level, and from 13° to 26°c (55–79°f) at an elevation of 460 m (1,500 ft); the warmest season lasts from October to April, the coolest from June to September. From October to March, southeast trade winds bring heavy rains to the central plateau and windward slopes, which have a yearly average rainfall of over 500 cm (200 in). On the coast, rainfall averages about 100 cm (40 in) annually. Daily showers occur from April to September and occasional tropical cyclones between December and April.

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Port Louis (155,226)

2. Beau Bassin-Rose Hill (111,355)

3. Vacoas (110,000)

4. Curepipe (84,200)

5. Quatre Bornes (80,961)

bottom of page