top of page

General Facts

Area: 801,590 km2 (309,500 sq miles)

Capital City: Maputo

Population: 28,829,476 (2016 estimate)

Official Languages: Portuguese

Boarding Countries: Tanzania, Malawi, Swaziland, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Zambia

Coastline: 2,470 km (1,537 miles) 

Currency: Mozambican Metical (MZN)

Government: Semi-Presidential Republic


Two main seasons, one wet and one dry, divide the climatic year. The wet season, from November through March, has monthly averages 27–29°c (81–84°f), with cooler temperatures in the interior uplands. The dry season lasts from April to October and has June and July temperatures averaging 18–20°c (64–68°f). The average annual rainfall is greatest (about 142 cm/56 in) over the western hills and the central areas, and lowest (30 cm/12 in) in the southwest.


Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Maputo (1,191,613)

2. Matola (675,422)

3. Beira (530,604)

4. Nampula (388,526)

5. Chimoio (256,936)

bottom of page