top of page


General Facts

Area: 825,615 km2 (318,772 sq miles)

Capital City: Windhoek

Population: 2,606,971 (2017 census)

Official Languages: English

Boarding Countries: Angola, Zambia, Botswana, South Africa

Coastline: 1,572 km (977 miles) 

Currency: Namibian Dollar (NAD), South African Rand (ZAR)

Government: Semi-Presidential Republic


Most of Namibia is covered by desert. Daytime temperatures are hot (extremely hot in summer) and nights are cold, some areas frequently go below freezing in winter. Rainfall is sparse; with the northeastern areas of Namibia getting the most rain (this area is tropical) and rainfall decreasing as you travel south and westwards. The Namib desert runs along the coast and rain in this area is rare. The rainy season in central Namibia starts in January and runs until the middle of April, further north the rains begin earlier and as you travel south the season becomes shorter. Its fairly safe to say that if you travel in the winter months you will hardly see a cloud, except for the deep south where occasional (once every couple of years) winter rains do occur. Coastal Namibia is different; it only ever gets really hot in winter (when the east wind blows), almost never rains, and is frequently blanketed by fog.

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Windhoek (268,132)

2. Rundu (58,172)

3. Walvis Bay (52.058)

4. Oshakati (33,618)

5. Swakopmund (25,047)

bottom of page