top of page


General Facts

Area: 130,375 km2 (50,338 sq miles)

Capital City: Managua

Population: 6,167,237 (2012 census)

Official Languages: Spanish

Boarding Countries: Honduras, Costa Rica

Coastline: 910 km (565 miles)

Currency: Cordoba (NIO)

Government: Presidential Constitutional Republic


Except in the central highlands, the climate is warm and humid. In Managua, monthly average temperatures range from a minimum of 23°c (73°f) and a maximum of 30°c (86°f) in January to a minimum of 26°c (79°f) and a maximum of 31°c (88°f) in July. There are two seasons: a wet season, from May to December, and a dry season, from January through April. Rainfall, however, varies according to region, and the rainy season in the eastern area may extend 9 or even 12 months. Average annual rainfall along the Mosquito Coast reaches 254–635 cm (100–250 in) as a result of the easterly trade winds blowing in from the Caribbean; the highlands also have heavy rainfall. Managua receives 114 cm (45 in), while the Pacific coast averages over 102 cm (40 in) a year.

Five Largest Cities: 

1. Managua (1,028,808)

2. Leon (201,100)

3. Masaya (166,588)

4. Matagalpa (150,643)

5. Chinandega (133,361 )

bottom of page