top of page


General Facts

Area: 947,303 km2 (365,756 sq miles)

Capital City: Dar es Salaam

Population: 55,572,201 (2016 estimate)

Official Languages: None

Boarding Countries: Mozambique, Malawi, Zambia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Burundi, Rwanda, Uganda, Kenya

Coastline: 1,424 km (885 miles)

Currency: Tanzanian Shilling (TZS)

Government: Constitutional Socialist Republic


There are four main climatic zones: (1) the coastal area and immediate hinterland, where conditions are tropical, with temperatures averaging about 27°c (81°f), rainfall varying from 100 to 193 cm (40 to 76 in), and high humidity; (2) the central plateau, which is hot and dry, with rainfall from 50–76 cm (20–30 in), although with considerable daily and seasonal temperature variations; (3) the semitemperate highland areas, where the climate is healthy and bracing; and (4) the high, moist lake regions. There is little seasonal variation in the Lake Victoria area, but the eastern sections average only 75–100 cm (30–40 in) of rain, while the western parts receive 200–230 cm (80–90 in). There are two rainy seasons in the north, from November to December and from March through May. In the south there is one rainy season, from November to March.

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Dar es Salaam (2,698,652)

2. Mwanza (436,801)

3. Zanzibar (403,658)

4. Arusha (341,136)

5. Mbeya (291,649)

bottom of page