General Facts

Area: 342,000 km2 (132,000 sq miles)

Capital City: Brazzaville

Population: 5,125,821 (2016 estimate)

Official Languages: French

Boarding Countries: Gabon, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Angola

Coastline: 169 km (105 miles) 

Currency: Central African Franc (XAF)

Government: Semi-Presidential Republic


The Congo has a tropical climate characterized by high humidity and heat. There are two wet and two dry seasons. At Brazzaville, in the south, the average daily maximum temperature is 30°c (86°f) and the average minimum temperature 20°c (68°f). At Souanké, in the far north, the extremes are 29°c (84°f) and 18°c (64°f). Annual rainfall varies from 105 cm (41 in) at Pointe-Noire, in the southwest, to 185 cm (73 in) at Impfondo, in the northeast.

Republic of the Congo

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Brazzaville (1,284,609)

2. Point-Noire (659,084)

3. Dolisie (103,894)

4. Kayes (58,737)

5. Owando (23,952)