top of page

General Facts

Area: 2,511 km2 (970 sq miles)

Capital City: St. Denis

Population: 865,826 (2018 estimate)

Official Languages: French

Boarding Countries: None (Island)

Coastline: 207 km (128.6 miles) 

Currency: Euro (EUR)

Government: Presidential Regional Council


Réunion, which is an overseas department of France, the climate is tropical, with a hot and humid season from December to March, and a cool season from June to September. In the capital St. Denis, located on the north coast, from June to September, daytime temperatures drop to around 25/26 °C (77/79 °F), and night-time temperatures to around 18/19 °C (64/66 °F), but sometimes they can drop to 13/14 °C (55/57 °F). During the warmer period, from January to March, the temperature hovers around 30 °C (86 °F) during the day, and around 23/24 °C (73/75 °F) at night. 


Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Saint-Denis (137,195)

2. Saint-Paul (99,307)

3. Saint-Pierre (76,655)

4. Le Tampon (69,986)

5. Saint-Andre (48,674)

bottom of page