top of page


General Facts

Area: 88,361 km2 (34,116 sq miles)

Capital City: Belgrade

Population: 7,058,322 (2017 estimate)

Official Languages: Serbian

Boarding Countries: Romania, Bulgaria, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Hungary

Coastline: None 

Currency: Serbian Dinar (RSD)

Government: Parliamentary Constitutional Republic


In Serbia, the climate is continental, with cold winters and hot summers. In the plains, the average temperatures in January are around around 0 °C (32 °F) in the north and

1°C (34 °F) in Belgrade, and around 22/23 °C (72/73 °F) in July and August. Annual precipitation in most of the country is 56 to 190 cm (22 to 75 in).

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Belgrade (1,273,651)

2. Nis (250,000)

3. Novi Sad (215,400)

4. Zemun (155,591)

5. Kragujevac (147,473)

bottom of page