Solomon Islands

General Facts

Area: 28,400 km2 (11,000 sq miles)

Capital City: Honiara

Population: 599,419 (2016 estimate)

Official Languages: English  

Boarding Countries: None (island)

Coastline: 5,313 km (3,301 miles)

Currency: Solomon Islands Dollar (SBD)

Government: Parliamentary Constitutional Monarchy


The climate is tropical. From December to March, northwest equatorial winds bring hot weather and heavy rainfall; from April to November, the islands are cooled by drier southeast trade winds. Damaging cyclones occasionally strike during the rainy season. The annual mean temperature is 27°c (81°f); annual rainfall averages 305 cm (120 in), and humidity is about 80%.

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Honiara (56,298)

2. Auki (6,811)

3. Gizo (6,154)

4. Buala (2,700)

5. Tulagi (1,750)