top of page

General Facts

Area: 163,610 km2 (63,170 sq miles)

Capital City: Tunis

Population: 11,304,482 (2016 estimate)

Official Languages: Arabic

Boarding Countries: Algeria, Libya

Coastline: 1,148 km (713 miles)

Currency: Tunisian Dinar (TND)

Government: Semi-Presidential Republic


Tunisia consists of two climatic belts, with Mediterranean influences in the north and Saharan in the south. Temperatures are moderate along the coast, with an average annual reading of 18°c (64°f), and hot in the interior south. The summer season in the north, from May through September, is hot and dry; the winter, which extends from October to April, is mild and characterized by frequent rains. Temperatures at Tunis range from an average minimum of 6°c (43°f) and maximum of 14°c (57°f) in January, to an average minimum of 21°c (70°f) and maximum of 33°c (91°f) in August. Precipitation in the northern region reaches a high of 150 cm (59 in) annually, while rainfall in the extreme south averages less than 20 cm (8 in) a year.


Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Tunis (693,210)

2. Sfax (277,278)

3. Sousse (164,123)

4. Midoun (120,000)

5. Kairouan (119,794)

bottom of page