top of page


General Facts

Area: 176,215 km2 (68,037 sq miles)

Capital City: Montevideo

Population: 3,444,006 (2016 estimate)

Official Languages: Spanish

Boarding Countries: Brazil, Argentina

Coastline: 660 km (410 miles)

Currency: Uruguayan Peso (UYU)

Government: Constitutional Republic


The climate is temperate; the average temperature in June, the coolest month, is about 15°c (59°f), and the average for January, the warmest month, is 25°c (77°f). The weather is transitional between the weather of the humid Argentine pampas and that of southern Brazil. Rainfall is evenly distributed throughout the year; it averages about 105 cm (41 in), varying from 97 cm (38 in) in Montevideo to nearly 127 cm (50 in) farther north. There are from 120 to 180 sunny days a year. Frost is virtually unknown.

Five Largest Cities/Towns: 

1. Montevideo (1,719,453)

2. Salto (104,028)

3. Ciudad de la Costa (95,176)

4. Paysandu (76,412)

5. Las Piedras (71,258)

bottom of page